Organic Animal Husbandry systems – challenges, performance and potentials (IAHA)

The Organic-PLUS and RELACS projects teamed up with IAHA and several EU-Core Organic projects to share results on organic livestock research. The proceedings (111 pages) of the IAHA Video-Conference on Organic Animal Husbandry, held 21. and 22. September 2020 (linked to the 20th Organic World Congress of IFOAM – now in 2021) are found here:

Otto Schmid, Marion Johnson, Mette Vaarst, Barbara Früh (Eds.) (2020) Organic Animal Husbandry systems – challenges, performance and potentials. Proceedings of the IAHA Video-Conference.


Main organisers with contact persons 

IFOAM Animal Husbandry Alliance (IAHA)
https://www.ifoam.bio/en/sector-platforms/iaha-animal-husbandry-alliance
Contact: Otto Schmid, Chair of IFOAM Animal Husbandry Alliance, otto.schmid@fibl.org  

FiBL Research Institute of Organic Agriculture (Switzerland)
Contact: Barbara Früh Barbara.frueh@fibl.org 

ITAB & INRA (France) as Organic World Congress organisers
Contact: Frédéric Rey Frederic.Rey@itab.asso.fr 

EU-Core Organic Projects
Project GrazyDaiSy – Dairy cattle meet their natural needs through grazing, dam-rearing and health support http://projects.au.dk/fileadmin/user_upload/grazydaisy_leaflet_web.pdf 
Contact: Mette Vaarst, project coordinator GrazyDaiSy, DK, mette.vaarst@anis.au.dk 

Project ProYoungStock – Promoting young stock and cow health and welfare by natural feeding systems, https://www.proyoungstock.net/ Contacts: Anet Spengler and Anna Bieber, FiBL, Research Institute of Organic Agriculture, CH, anet.spengler@fibl.org, anna.bieber@fibl.org 

Project MIX-ENABLE – MIXEd livestock farming for improved sustaiNABiLity and robustnEss of organic livestock http://projects.au.dk/coreorganiccofund/research-projects/mix-enable/
Contacts: Guillaume Martin INRA, France, Guillaume.martin@inra.fr , Marc Benoit INRA, France, marc-p.benoit@inra.fr 

Project POWER – Power to strengthen welfare and resilience in organic pig pro-duction
http://projects.au.dk/coreorganiccofund/research-projects/power/ 
Contact: Anne Grete Kongsted, Aarhus University, Denmark, an-neg.kongsted@agro.au.dk 

EU-Projects under Horizon 2020 Programme
Organic-PLUS – Pathways to phase-out contentious inputs from organic agriculture in Europe http://www.organic-plus.net
Contact: Ulrich Schmutz, Coventry University, UK, ulrich.schmutz@coventry.ac.uk 

RELACS – ‘Replacement of Contentious Inputs in Organic Farming Systems’, https://relacs-project.eu
Contact: Lucius Tamm, FiBL, Research Institute of Organic Agriculture, CH, lucius.tamm@fibl.org 

IAHA-Video-Conference_Livestock_OWC2020-proceedings-2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.